التاريخ

موقع العين الأثري

RITA WILLAERT ©

التاريخ

التاريخ والاسطوره في عُمان | اكتشف عُمان

سلطنة عُمان هي بلاد الطبيعة المتفردة والبطولات التاريخية التي تحكي قصص الحضارة العريقة الغارقة في عمق التاريخ، ولكونها أقدم البلدان المستقلة في العالم العربي، نجحت السلطنة في الدمج بين الحداثة المعاصرة والتراث الأصيل مع الحفاظ على الجوانب الجوهرية لثقافتها وتاريخها العريق مما يجعلها الوجهة السياحية المثالية لأولئك الراغبين في زيارة الدول العربية التي تجمع بين الأصالة والحداثة في آن واحد.

وبفضل موقعها الاستراتيجي جنوب شبه الجزيرة العربية، كان لعُمان دور بارز في الإشراف على خطوط التجارة من وإلى المنطقة ككل، حيث كانت بمثابة بوابة العبور لجميع السفن التي تبحر عبر مضيق هرمز باتجاه المحيط الهندي أو بحر العرب.

ويعتقد بأن منطقة الوطية في محافظة مسقط هي من أوائل المستوطنات المأهولة بالسكان في العالم، حيث يعود تاريخ وجود الإنسان فيها إلى 10,000 سنة. وقبل دخول الإسلام،كانت عُمان تحت سيطرة الآشوريين والبابليين والفرس ؛ الذين رغبوا في استغلال موقع عُمان الاستراتيجي للتجارة مع العالم.

ومع دخول وانتشار الإسلام في أرجاء عُمان في حوالي القرن السابع الميلادي، بني أول مسجد في عُمان وهو مسجد المضمار بولاية سمائل والذي مازال قائماً حتى يومنا هذا وقد تم إعادة بناؤه عدة مرات على مر السنين .

وخلال القرون التي أعقبت ذلك، توارد على حكم عُمان مختلف السلالات الحاكمة والأئمة والقوى الأجنبية بما في ذلك البرتغاليون الذين حكموا أجزاء من عُمان في الفترة من 1498 إلى 1507م. ويروي تاريخ عُمان قصص كثيرة سطرها العُمانيون الأوائل في حربهم الضروس لطرد الغزاة المستعمرين من البلاد ليتوحدوا على يد الإمام ناصر بن مرشد في عام 1624م.

وفي الأعوام التالية، توسعت سلطنة عُمان لتضم مدن على طول ساحل شرق أفريقيا من مومباسا ووصولاً إلى زنجبار.

وفي عام 1798م وقعت سلطنة عُمان معاهدة صداقة مع بريطانيا العظمى وبحلول عام 1891م أصبحت عُمان ومسقط تحت الحماية البريطانية. وخلال هذه الفترة، حكم السلطان المنطقة الساحلية انطلاقاً من مسقط، فيما حكم الإمام المنطقة الداخلية انطلاقاً من نزوى. وبموجب معاهدة الصداقة والتجارة والملاحة في عام1951م، حصلت عُمان على استقلالها من بريطانيا.

وعقب هذا الاستقلال، تولى السلطان سعيد بن تيمور مقاليد الحكم في البلاد. ومع ذلك، لم تشهد عُمان نهضة حديثة ولم تتطور لتصبح الدولة التي هي عليها الآن إلا بعد أن تولى حضرة صاحب الجلالة السلطان قابوس بن سعيد- حفظه الله وأبقاه-مقاليد الحكم في عام 1970م.

حيث ساعدت حكمة جلالة السلطان قابوس بن سعيد ورؤيته الثاقبة على تأمين الرخاء والازدهار المستمر وضمان أن تظل البلاد واحدة من أكثر الدول أمانا في العالم.

History

AL AYN TOMBS

© RITA WILLAERT

History

History and legends of Oman | Experience Oman

The Sultanate of Oman is a country of breathtaking natural beauty, interwoven with a kaleidoscope of history and legends. As the oldest independent state in the Arab World, Oman has embraced modernization and progress while retaining the core aspects of its culture and heritage – making it the perfect travel destination for those seeking an authentic Arabian experience.

Thanks to its strategic position at the tip of the Arabian Peninsula, the Sultanate has always played a major role in trade within the region and beyond, acting as gateway to all ships traversing the Strait of Hormuz, Indian Ocean or the Arabian Sea.

Al Wattih, in the Muscat region, is thought to be one of the world’s first inhabited settlements, dating back an incredible 10,000 years. Later, and before the coming of Islam, Oman was dominated by the Assyrians, Babylonians and Persians –  each of whom sought to use Oman’s strategic location to trade with the world.

It was with the spread of Islam in Oman, around the 7th century, that the first place of worship was built. The Al Midhmar mosque in Wilayat Samail still stands to this day, having been rebuilt at various times throughout the centuries.

Over the coming centuries, the rule in Oman divided amongst a variety of dynasties, imamates and foreign powers, including the Portuguese from 1498 to 1507. Oman’s history tells the story of Omani people expelling the Portuguese to unite under Iman Nasser bin Murshid in 1624.

In the years that followed, the Sultanate expanded to include cities along the East African coast, from Mombasa to Zanzibar.

In 1798 Oman and Great Britain signed a Treaty of Friendship and, by 1891, Oman and Muscat had become a British Protectorate. For much of this period, the Sultan controlled the coast around Muscat while the Imam governed the interior from Nizwa. Under the 1951 Treaty of Friendship, Commerce and Navigation, Oman received independence from Britain.

Following this independence, the country was brought under the leadership of Sultan Said bin Taimur. However, it was not until his son – His Majesty Sultan Qaboos bin Said – ascended to the throne in 1970 that Oman entered a modern renaissance, evolving into the contemporary, forward facing country it is today.

It is His Majesty Sultan Qaboos bin Said’s foresight and benevolence that has helped to secure Oman’s continued prosperity and ensured that the country remains one of the safest in the world.