كهف مجلس الجن

الرئيسية > مسقط > كهف مجلس الجن

يتطلب إذن خاص لزيارة

يعد مجلس الجن ، أحد أكبر الكهوف الموجودة تحت الأرض في العالم ، بمثابة عجب طبيعي يقع على هضبة سلمى. في عام 2007 ، قفز الغواص النمساوية فيليكس بومغارتنر إلى الكهف ، على بعد حوالي 120 متر. يتطلب استكشاف هذا الكهف الحصول على إذن خاص من وزارة السياحة العُمانية.

مجلس الجن هو ثاني أكبر غرفة كهف في العالم من حيث المساحة. تبلغ مساحة الكهف 624000 قدم مربع ، أي ما يقرب من 11 ملعبًا لكرة القدم. ومع ذلك ، فإن الطريقة الوحيدة للدخول هي من خلال واحدة من ثلاث فتحات صغيرة في الجزء العلوي ، والتي تشكلت جميعها بمرور الوقت لأن تراكم مياه الأمطار قد حل غطاء الحجر الجيري.

تم اكتشاف حجرة الكهوف هذه ، التي تقع على بعد 60 ميلاً من مسقط ، من قبل الأميركيين دون ديفيدسون جونيور وزوجته شيريل جونز في عام 1983. لاحظوا الثقوب الغريبة في الأرض على صور جوية ، وفي النهاية قاموا بالرحلة عبر الهليكوبتر. عندما نظروا لأسفل في الفتحات الصغيرة ، رأوا الأرضية الرملية أدناه – أكثر من 500 قدم لأسفل. بعد أيام قليلة ، توغلوا للمرة الأولى.
في محاولة للعثور على اسم مناسب للغرفة ، سألوا العُمانيين في المنطقة المحيطة ما إذا كان لديهم اسم محلي لها ، والذي كان الرد لا. ومع ذلك ، فقد ذكروا أنهم يعتقدون أن الكهف كان ممتلئًا بالجنيات ، التي تنتشر في الأساطير العُمانية والقرآن. في اللغة العربية ، كلمة “الجني” هي “الجن” ، وبالتالي فإن المستكشفين الأمريكيين أطلقوا على الكهف اسم “مجلس الجن”. “المجلس” يعني “مكان الاجتماع” ، مما يجعل اسم الكهف ، “مكان اجتماع الجنيات”.
يمكن الوصول إليه الآن بواسطة سيارات الدفع الرباعي ، وقد أصبحت غرفة الكهف هذه مكانًا ساخنًا للغواصين والقاعدين. ثقب صغير في الجزء العلوي يلقي شعاع من الضوء في القاعدة واسعة. الغريب أن الجزء السفلي من هذه القاعدة يبدو وكأنه مقبرة للماعز (الذين يفترض أنهم سقطوا) والثعابين والطيور – عظامهم تناثرت على الأرض.

Majlis Al Jinn Cave

Home > Muscat > Majlis Al Jinn Cave

requires special permission to visit

One of the largest underground caves in the world, Majlis Al Jinn is a natural wonder located on the Salmah Plateau. In 2007, Austrian sky diver Felix Baumgartner based jumped into the cave, a distance of about 120 metres. Exploring this cave requires a special permission from the Ministry of Tourism Oman.

Majlis al Jinn is the second largest cave chamber in the world by surface area. The base of the cave is 624,000 square feet, the size of nearly 11 football fields. However the only way to get in is through one of three tiny openings at the top, all of which have been formed over time as the accumulation of rainwater dissolved the limestone covering.

This cave chamber, located 60 miles from Muscat, was discovered by Americans Don Davidson Jr. and his wife Cheryl Jones in 1983. They noticed the strange holes in the ground on aerial photographs, and eventually made the journey out via helicopter. When they looked down into the small openings, they saw the sandy floor below – over 500 feet down. Just days later, they rappelled down for the first time.

In an attempt to find an appropriate name for the chamber, they asked the Omanis in the surrounding area if they had a local name for it, to which the response was no. They did, however, mention that they believed that the cave was filled with genies, which are prevalent in Omani mythology and the Quran. In Arabic, the word for “genie” is “al-Jinn”, so hence, the American explorers named the cave is “Majlis al Jinn. “Majlis” means “meeting place,” making the cave name, “the meeting place of the genies.”

Now accessible by four wheel drive automobiles, this cave room has become a hot spot for abseilers and BASE jumpers. A small hole at the top sheds a beam of light into the vast base. Strangely, the bottom of this chamber appears to be a sort of graveyard for goats (who presumably fell in), snakes, and birds – their bones littering the floor.

More Places To See

  • All
  • A’Dakhiliyah
  • A’Dhahirah
  • A’Sharqiyah
  • A’Sharqiyah North
  • A’Sharqiyah South
  • Al Batinah
  • Al Buraimi
  • Al Wusta
  • Dhofar
  • Musandam
  • Muscat

Things to do

Interested in a particular type of holiday experience? there is so much to do in Oman that you will want to keep coming back. Here are just a few of the possibilities to help make your next visit to Oman perfect.

Bait al Baranda 004

Museums

Oman has a number of museums, primarily in the capital area, that is focused on promoting culture, science, and heritage.

Arts and entertainment The Royal Opera House Muscat Madinat Sultan Qaboos

Arts & Entertainment

Oman is a country that remains true to its roots, striking a successful balance between traditional and modern arts and entertainment. This unique blend helps cater to the entertainment needs of visitors whilst still preserving the country’s alluring Arabian charm.

Geology Mountainous Region

Geology

Looking back on a geological history spanning across millions of years, Oman is one of the few places that carries its unique geological heritage on the open. Attractions such as Jebel Shams, or the Ophiolite rocks surrounding Muttrah Corniche, were once at the bottom of the ocean.